Oblivio essevet, over and over in my mind as I get out of bed this morning, not realizing right away that it’s from The Nines, one of my favourite movies. As I wonder about it, my dream starts coming back to me…

…my sister and I are in a busy public square in Toronto. Richard Gere walks by us with a wet handkerchief draped over his head, which I find quite odd. He is leaning into a conversation with a young woman as he walks along and I get the sense she is giving him acting direction for a scene they are in the midst of filming. That he is acting gives context to the handkerchief, in a way.

The thought occurs to me and I voice it to my sister, ‘Hey, wouldn’t it be funny if all these people were acting?’ She looks up and yells, ‘CUT!‘ in an attempt to be humorous… when everyone in the square stops what they are doing, break character and look at her. They were only acting. And we were the only ones unaware!

Oblivio essevet… oblivion sets in.

In The Nines, Ryan Reynolds plays three different characters in three separate but overlapping stories… an actor, a television writer, and a video game designer.

In one scene, the writer is behind two-way mirror observing a test audience as they watch his latest production. A man stares directly at him through the glass, ignoring the screening, and Reynolds is perplexed. How could the man be looking at him, he shouldn’t be able to see him? But then the man charges towards the glass and yells, ” The show’s not real! Why can’t you just see that? Jesus! What are you fucking blind? You think you’re above this, don’t you? You are trapped here with the rest of them brother! Get out! Get out! Oblivio essevet!”

Sounds a bit doom and gloomy, but really just a tactic used by a handful of characters throughout the movie attempting to wake him up, reminding him that he is the creator of it all.

My dream, a reminder. Or, a confirmation, more like. I love it!

A great movie, by the way. You should check it out.